Beginnings – shrine

Finding the right book for each photograph is a joy.

 

cropped-img_1862.jpg

I began collecting vintage photographs over a year ago while researching for my Arts Council project Through An Artist’s Eye. Recently I’ve become drawn to vintage books too – with a view to repurposing them.

Finding an image of a book gutted and used to fashion a radio by a prison inmate, inspired me to explore the potential of books as objects – as containers and instruments.

Then a conversation sparked the idea to house my growing collection of orphaned portraits in a series of books. And so my library of orphans began. Finding the right book for each child is a joy.

Adopting an orphan is easy. You can send me a message via the contact form.

Author: soniaboue

I am an artist.

Leave a Reply

